About the Championships

As the Asian Cycling Championships are basically the annual continental championships which are organized by Asian Cycling Confederation (ACC), Asian Cycling Championships 2016 are co-organized by ACC and Japan Cycling Federation (JCF).
Under the Olympic qualification criteria which is set by International Cycling Union (UCI), Asian Cycling Championships 2016 are authorized as Olympic Qualifying Race for Rio Olympic Game.
Most significant change of Asian Cycling Championships 2016 are that road and track races of Para-Cycling Championships are held as well. It will be the prelude of Rio Olympic Games in Asia continent.

The history of the Asian Cycling Championships
The first Asian Cycling Championships were held in Kuala Lumpur, Federation of Malaya (existing Malaysia) in 1963.
Since then, Asian Cycling championships were held around Asian countries every other year. Since Asian Cycling Championship 1989 held in New Delhi, India, the Asian Junior Cycling Championships were held as well in the same location at the same time.
In 1973 the 6th Championships were held in Shuzenji-cho, Tagata-gun, Shizuoka Prefecture (existing Izu City), and in 1999 the 19th Championships were held at Maebashi City and Tsumagoi Village in Gunma Prefecture.
Since the year of 2000, the Championships became an annual event. The 24th Championships were held at Yokkaichi-city, Mie Prefecture in 2004, and the 28th Championships were held at Nara City and Yamazoe Village in Nara Prefecture in 2008.
From 2012, the Asia Para-Cycling Championships become co-organized races.
Since 2017 road and track races will be held in different venues.

19631stKuala Lumpur, Malaya
19652ndManila, Philippines
19673rdBangkok, Thailand
19694thSeoul, Korea
19715thSingapore, Singapore
19736thShizuoka, Japan
1975(7th)CANCELED (Indonesia)
19778thManila, Philippines
19799thKuala Lumpur, Malaysia
198110thBangkok, Thailand
198311thManila, Philippines
198512thInchon, Korea
198713thJakarta, Indonesia
198914th1stNew Delhi, India
199115th2ndBeijing, China
199316th3rdIpoh, Malaysia
199517th4thQuezon/Olongapo, Philippines
199718th5thSeoul/Kapyeong, Korea
199919th6thGunma, Japan
200020th7thShanghai, China
200121st8thTaichung/Kaohsiung, Chinese Taipei
200222nd9thBangkok/Suphanburi, Thailand
200323rd10thChangwon, Korea
200424th11thMie, Japan
200525th12thLudhiana, India
200626th13thKuala Lumpur, Malaysia
200727th14thBangkok/Nakhon Ratchasima, Thailand
200828th15thNara, Japan
200929th16thKalimantan, Indonesia
201030th17thSharjah, UAE
201131st18thNakhon Ratchasima, Thailand
201232nd19th1stKuala Lumpur, Malaya
201333rd20th2ndDelhi, India
201434th21st(3rd)Astana/Karaganda, Kazakhstan
201535th22nd(4th)Nakhon Ratchasima, Thailand
201636th23rd5thTokyo/Shizuoka, Japan